Sewing with a plan

In the last month I considered building an inkle loom and started making tablets for tablet (card) weaving. I’ve bought new supplies and tools for both paper and jewellery crafts. So if I don’t try and control myself I would get nothing done because I want to do everything. I will never be able to finish as many things as say Lauren of LLadybird – impressively many finished pieces. But with a plan I can hopefully get some things done that I will like, enjoy to wear and gradually build a wardrobe with matching clothes. To that end the Facebook group is so inspirational and one of few I still visit after deleting the Facebook app from my phone. The original plan of the group was to do four  6PAC a year. Now I think it’s more apt to just say sewing with a plan – SWAP; not many members adheres to the format of a 6PAC. With my limited time and energy I have no way of doing four plans a year. But I make a plan and try to stick to it. The plan I made last year is below. The colour palette is based off the Koi collection from Cloud 9. I fell in love with the fabric as soon as I saw it and fortunately the colours were just as great in person.

SWAP 2014

SWAP 2014

My first thought was to stick to the plan until everything was finished. But as winter came and a new year was approaching I just did not feel like finishing those shorts. So the blazer/cardigan and the bottoms are still clothes I want to make. I’m just transferring them to a new plan for 2015. Below is the results of the pieces I did finish. I’ll post separate posts for these items under the tag SWAP2014.

SWAP 2014 - results

SWAP 2014 – results

The plan for 2015 is under way and most of it is finished. New for this plan is that I’m including jewellery. Those figures on the bottom left are supposed to be earrings.

PLanning for spring 2015

Planning for spring 2015

One thought on “Sewing with a plan

  1. Pingback: In search of a good woven top | The Dawn Threader

Leave a comment