Verdict on my first 6PAC

I finished the trousers for my first 6PAC -6 piece autumn collection- or SWAP -sewing with a plan. There were both hits and misses amongst the makes. The piece I wear the most is by far the drop pocket cardigan – Jalie 3248. I definitely want to make another one in either purple or petrol.

The two tops are not too bad but I don’t feel comfortable in them. The twist top -New look 6164- is nice under a cardigan but the armhole is too loose to wear on it’s own. Plus the V-neck is too low for me to feel comfortable at work which limits its use. The white Renfrew top is a bit of a wonder. The fabric is bought from the same place as the grey jersey used for the  cardigan but it is so much stiffer. Despite trying an FBA there were pooling between the breast and the armhole and I added armhole darts to remove the excess. The darts make me feel a bit awkward and I mainly use the top when I’m at home.

The trousers have scarcely been worn. They are just too tight over the hips. Unfortunately I serged the hell out of the side seams because the toile looked good, therefore not leaving any room to take them out. Lesson learned – different fabrics behave in varying manners so sew a toile with similar fabrics or be more careful when sewing with the fashion fabric.

6PAC 2013

6PAC 2013

Supplies 1:

  • PatternsDrop pocket cardigan from Jalie and Twist top 6164  from New look.
  • Fabric – Grey ecological cotton jersey from Jofotex and lilac cotton jersey from local store Tygaffären.
  • Thread – Polyester, Dor tak from Gittes.
6PAC 2013

6PAC 2013

Supplies 2:

  • PatternsThurlow trousers and Renfrew top from Sewaholic.
  • Fabric – Pinstripe grey blend and a printed cotton from local store Tygaffären and white ecological cotton jersey from Jofotex.
  • Thread – Grey Gutermann polyester and white Dor tak polyester.
  • Interfacing – For the trousers I used a non woven from Gittes.

Below is the the last ensamble together with the knitted cardigan I put in the plan. This cardigan is a lot warmer than the jersey cardigan and therefore more suitable for fall and winter.

6PAC 2013

6PAC 2013

Leave a comment