Not a garment in sight

Last year I mostly made garments. I’ve learnt a lot and am now at a stage were I realise I need to alter the patterns to get a fit that I’m happy with. Coupled with the fact that I’ve reached a dead end trying to fit my pants – I wanted to sew something else. Looking through my wishlist on Craftsy I found the Suzi purse insert. Off I went to Stoff & Stil and bougth some fat quarters, a cutting mat and rotary cutter.

Purse organiser

Purse organiser

Oh the bliss. Alone one evening in my sewing room/our spare room with the cutting mat, cutter, rulers, fabric and pattern and audio book on the Nexus. Listening to The Lion, the witch and the wardrobe by C.S. Lewis on Storytel. It was very relaxing and definitely something I want to do again. Another pattern and another book of course.

Purse organiser, other side

Purse organiser, other side

The pattern is very nicely laid out with plenty of photos to guide even a beginner like me. I did the larger size in order to fit my Nexus 7. The clip for my keys and loops on the side are my additions. Quite easy to add in the top seam. Other than that I think I followed the instructions to a T.  Oh, wait that’s not entirely true. I added a thin interfacing to the inside pockets, because it was too see-through.

Adding straps to the organiser

Adding straps to the organiser

Supplies:

  • PatternSuzi purse insert
  • Fabric – Four fat quarters from Stoff & Stil
  • Thread – Off white and turquoise polyester from Stoff & Stil
  • Interfacing – Hobby from Stoff & Stil

 

Inside of organiser

Inside of organiser

Cost – 200 SEK, £18.5, $30.5 or 22.5€

 

2 thoughts on “Not a garment in sight

  1. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a comment